Auto Fiction, album out August 13th 2021

The Juka Trashy album Auto Fiction is inspired by the soundtracks of Tarantino and Lynch films and focuses on creating a cinematic experience rather than clinging on to a specific genre. You will experience a dusty and lo-fi universe of surf, rock, punk, and a dash of bluesy singer-songwriter on the album.

Auto Fiction is a great example of what comes out of creative processes in a collision of different places: The cultural melting pot of Berlin, writing retreats in Austin (Texas) and Paris, Juka Trashy’s hometown Aarhus, coffees in Copenhagen, beers on Christiana and most importantly: Amazing musicians from more than ten different countries. 

The philosophy behind Auto Fiction is that you can’t create a musical journey for your listener without traveling, and you can’t make an album with a wide scope if everybody has the same cultural or artistic background. Auto Fiction has grown out of the international collaborations that are established when you dare to think out of the box and break the boundaries of genre, text, instrumentation, and working processes. All contributors have been asked to leave their unique fingerprint on the album and to consider it as a playground for creativity. 

The album is supported by DJBFA and Koda’s Cultural Funds

The team behind Auto Fiction

Julie “Juka” Hugsted: Vocals, guitar, bass, synth, keys, percussion, production, mix, recordings as well as composer and author (Qu’est-ce Que Fück?, Hank Robots Headless Chickens, Mack The Knife, Walking psychosis), DK/BE/SE/NO

Backing vocals

Lene Carlskov: Backing Vocals, percussion, DK


Perry Stenbäck: Lap steel, baritone guitar (Sebastian, Allan Olsen, Erann DD), SE

Roger Langvik: 12 string, NO


Theodore Doubinsky: Bass (BOAT), DK/FR

Pedro Da Palma: Bass (Clean Boys, Godt Mudder, John D Band), DK

Benn Dickenson: Bass, UK 

Drums and percussion

Hugh Brace: Drums, UK

Simon Behrenz Jensen: Percussion (Morgan Square), DK

Recordings, mix, production

Cable Hell Studio, Jonathan Jensen: Recordings, producer, mix, DK 

Stonebreaker Audio, Tyler Blair: Mix, production, US

NREC: Recordings, producer, IT 

Penguin Productions (Lowly, NovemberDecember, Who Killed Bambi), DK


Pete Maher: Mastering. (Patti Smith, Pixies, Jack White, Nick Cave), UK 

Recording studio: QMusikkorruption, DE/FR/US

ET Mastering (Baby In Vain, Bersærk, Lydmor): DK


Louise Elisabeth Andersen: Photography, DK

Jace Images: Photography, UK


Eneko Sanz: Video production (Rolling Eyes Films), ES 

Branding manager

Ted Fauster, Truly Fearless Life, US

Auto Fiction: Tracks

More Less No Yes (Juka Trashy, Penguin Productions, ET Mastering)

This is Goodbye (Juka Trashy, Lene Carlskov, Theodore Doubinksy, Stonebreaker Audio, Peter Maher)

Stolen Moments (Juka Trashy, Perry Stenbäck, Roger Langvik, Hugh Brace, Benn Dickenson, NREC, Peter Maher)

Post Drunk Depression (Juka Trashy, Cable Hell Studios)

Berlin Mauer Berghain (Juka Trashy, Pedro Da Palma, Stonebreaker Audio, Peter Maher)

I Lost you to the Booze (Juka Trashy, Lene Carlskov, Peter Maher)

Reduced (Juka Trashy, Stonebreaker Audio, Peter Maher)

Have a Brunch (Juka Trashy, Theodore Doubinsky, Simon Behrenz Jensen, Cable Hell Studios, Peter Maher)

Can’t see through my glasses (Juka Trashy, Stonebreaker Audio, Peter Maher)

Straydog (Juka Trashy, Stonebreaker Audio, Peter Maher)

….and perhaps a surprise or two…